jump to navigation

Vancouver Bloggers Meetup for July 2008 – What a success! July 30, 2008

Posted by Raul in Blogathon 2008, blogosphere, friends, geekifying myself, local business, local events, Vancouver Blogger Meetup.
Tags:
trackback

It’s past midnight on Wednesday already. I just got home from having done some shopping at Safeway on Commercial, and catching up on Twitter (sorry if you were one of the people who were viciously bombarded with my tweets). I would *love* to write a really detailed recap, but I am sure that a lot of other bloggers will. And since I am now the Organizer of Vancouver Bloggers Meetup, I am hoping I will be cut some slack (as I spent the vast majority of the time trying to ensure everyone was having a good time, and doing introductions, etc.)

So, a few points. Yes, I know the venue was small, but even though it was so small, lots of people showed up and it was really heartwarming for me. I am very honored that Isabella decided to bestow her leadership role on to me, I really am. I even got my Blogger Sword! I promise I shall use its power for good ๐Ÿ™‚

I did miss many good friends of mine who are also bloggers, too many to recount, but I do want to single out Rebecca because she did an amazing job of organizing and she entrusted me with passing on her message of how proud she was of the work we all who Blogathoned did, as well as news that there would be some commentary about Blogathon on Metro Vancouver (the newspaper).

Along the same way, Rebecca, it is important that you know that everyone in the room gave you an in absentia ovation for all your hard work in organizing Blogathon. I’m very proud of you and honored to call you a friend. I know these are trying times for you, but I sure hope you know you can always count on me, I really do.

After the Blackwater Cafe (whose staff should be fully commended, as we stayed there well past their closing time, almost 9 pm and Adrienne was SO incredibly helpful and sweet – really good times) a bunch of us headed down to the Lamplighter for a couple of beers. Overall, I had a fabulous time, and I am glad to have seen you all. And as I mentioned in my speech, I am very honored to be able to call so many of you my friends. You are truly awesome.

And on that note, I should go to sleep. I haven’t recovered from Blogathon and need my sleep. Catch you all later.

Comments»

1. Andrew Kumar - July 30, 2008

I was expecting an amazing crowd picture!! =P

2. miss604 - July 30, 2008

Really glad you guys had fun, I was worried about the space but it sounds like it worked out ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for all the kind words, Blogathon was a success because of all the people who read, commented, pledged, donated and stayed up for 24 hours writing – (that’s you!) Everyone helped make a difference.

3. Barbara Doduk - July 30, 2008

Sorry I couldn’t make it Raul. I was at the vet until 7. Bear had to have a urine sample, and bloodwork, and he fought the vets, it took the entire team to hold him down, they said, “He’s so strong.” At least he made them work for the high vet fees. By the time I got done, there was no way I could get him home and then get to gastown. Next time.

PS Congrats on the promotion haha.

4. Jodi - July 30, 2008

We had fun, too!

5. Vancouver Blogger Meetup August 2008 and September 2008 « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 22, 2008

[…] like to have an August 2008 meetup or wait until September 2008. As many of you may remember, the July 2008 Vancouver Bloggers Meetup was a resounding success. I want to keep it that […]


Leave a Reply

