jump to navigation

My 1000th post – How Web 2.0 has changed my life August 5, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts, Web 2.0.
Tags: ,
trackback

I was going to make a really big fuss of this, but under the circumstances (my Aunt is in critical condition as I write this) I just decided to skip with the fuss and just get over with it so that if/when I feel like blogging again, I won’t have to keep this stupid placeholder in my head (“oh, I *really* should keep this witty phrase/this important topic for when I write my 1000th“).

Rebecca asked if there would be a party to celebrate my 1000th post. Back then, I answered yes (we were in the midst of Blogathon and we were all cranking out posts like maniacs). Right now, I don’t feel like partying at all. I do, however, have some social and organizational commitments that I will definitely honor, so I am sure I will be seeing some of you there.

But I just wanted to quickly write a post about how Web 2.0 has changed my life and thank all the wonderful people I’ve met through blogging. You all have made a difference and from each and every one of you I have learned something.

Web 2.0 has changed my life in many ways. I’ve become aware of new trends in technology, innovative tools. I have devised ways in which I can apply my PhD training to understanding social media and viceversa – I have begun to harness the power of Web 2.0 in effecting social change in some small way.

From lunches at Salsa and Agave to the wonderful times playing Rock Band to the walks around Trout Lake to squeezing lots of bodies at the Blackwater Cafe to poker nights and lots of Margaritas to taking crazy wicked photos with PhotoBooth to SteakCamp to beer o’clock and BBQs on the roof, to coffee and tea dates and discovering new places, to parties at the homes of dear friends (and getting lost in Burnaby on the way there!), the list of wonderful times I’ve spent with people I have met through my blog is really, really long.

Web 2.0 has changed my life by making of the hummingbird, my own personal brand, a symbol of my personality that has transcended my offline circle of friends to my online sphere. More than anything, Web 2.0 has brought me new friends and I am deeply and truly grateful for that.

Thanks so much to the many people who have enabled me to get to this point. You rock (and you know who you are).

Comments»

1. crunchy carpets - August 5, 2008

I am very sorry about your Aunt…
that must be very worrying and stressful….

and whoot for 1000 posts..

2. gusf - August 5, 2008

Congrats on your 1000th post. This is definitely a great achievement in the blogger world. I’m only just over 1/5th of this and will take me sometime to get to this point.

Web2.0 has changed many people and I’m glad I was able to meet you and connect up with you in this forum.

You are a great man Raul. Your family should be proud of who you are and I only wish the best for you Aunt as I know how important family is.

3. talkingtoair - August 5, 2008

I hope your Aunt is pain-free and peaceful. Please keep us posted. I totally agree about web2.0 being so much more than just a computer interface; it extends to human interaction. If face, I think humans seek-out and create good blogs and social networking venues to help fuel new friendships.
I love interwebs.

4. Danny Dang - August 6, 2008

Congrats on reaching 1000 posts! That’s not an easy task. The best to your Auntie.

5. miss604 - August 6, 2008

You have to be where you’re most needed, which is with your family. Web 2.0 can wait until you return and we’ll be here with open arms at that time … and then we’ll do an S&A lunch:-)

6. Phaedra - August 6, 2008

Sending positive vibes to your family. Hugs.

And congrats on your 1000th post.

7. Barbara Doduk - August 6, 2008

(cyberspace) HUGS. I hope you have a safe trip. We’ll all be thinking of you.

8. Jonathon Narvey - August 6, 2008

I had to re-read the title, because I thought it was the much more reasonable “100” posts. Nope, it’s 10 times that. Well done, blogaholic. I’ll see you when you’re back from Mexico. Best wishes to you and your family.


Leave a Reply

