jump to navigation

A bunch of geeks at the Future Shop Park Royal opening August 7, 2008

Posted by Raul in friends, geekifying myself, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

A few days ago, a bunch of geeks (myself included) received an invitation from Darren to a little escapade to West Vancouver for the new Future Shop store (in Park Royal). I’ll be the first to admit that I love those store openings. You get to be the first to see a lot of ‘bright, shiny objects’ (gadgets), and you get to hang out with your geek friends. A win-win situation.

The main difference I found between this Future Shop and the others I have previously visited (I bought two of my laptop computers at Future Shop, including my about-to-die eMachines) is the concept of The Hub (a centralized customer-centred point of reference).


Photo credit: Derek K. Miller on Flickr.

It was very fun to see several of my friends there (since the invite was somewhat secret, I didn’t actually know who else was coming), including obviously Darren, Derek, Monica, Arieanna, Ianiv, Dale, Roland, Tris, John Biehler and his wife, Gregg Scott and Greg Andrews, and we even bumped into Buzz Bishop.

There is a mini-Apple Store in the Future Shop, but it’s smallish. However, it’s the best you can get if you are an Apple geek and you don’t want to go DT (e.g. if you’re in the North Shore).

Future Shop Park Royal
Arieanna, Roland and Ianiv. Photo credit: Well, me of course 🙂

We were given a very good tour of the store, and I have to admit that I kind of liked when the tour guide said “here, the customer representatives don’t work on commission, we are here to make your experience the best“. For whatever is worth, that demonstrates a refreshing change of pace. I captured some video on my Flickr (I really need to check how to embed Flickr video on WP.com, but that’s not a priority now).

While not everybody went to Browns Social House for dinner afterwards (Greg and Gregg deserted us, hehehe) it was a nice change of scenery for me, and a fun event to attend. I even initiated a discussion on fashion for male geeks on Twitter!

It was also fun just to get away from my worries and spend some time with geek friends, seeing as I already have my flight booked and I’m pretty much 99% packed. Thanks to Darren for inviting us.

[UPDATE – Darren was kind enough to provide us with a fun schematic diagram of The Hub]

Darren Barefoot

Photo Credit: Darren Barefoot

Comments»

1. Tyler Ingram - August 7, 2008

I went there to pick up my Canon XSi and the guy couldn’t stop telling me about the camera I already knew about. I just said.. Hey.. I’ll make this simple.. I want the camera, just ring it up. lol

The renovations are nice as I’ve dropped into the store a few times during them.

Unless they have changed their business model they were always on a ‘commission’ system. They earn a base wage and then commission, if their commission is higher than their base wage they get their commission only, if not they get their base wage and frowned upon. Or so it was when I worked for FutureShop.

Now being a sister company of BestBuy I don’t see what the point is if they are now both non-commission.

Nonetheless it looks like it was a fun reopening of their store. Wish i knew about it lol

2. Darren - August 7, 2008

Great write-up, Raul–thanks for that.

@Tyler: As I understand it, Future Shop has a number of ‘connectivity experts’ who are non-commissioned, and specifically intended to answer shoppers’ questions without pressure to sell.

I’ll invite you to future events along these lines if you’re interested.

3. kimli - August 7, 2008

Man – how do I get invited to these things? I’m a geek of the highest nature, plus an obsessive blogger to boot. AND I’m on the North Shore, and that FS is my “home” store. Add me to that list please, Darren!

4. GusF - August 7, 2008

Sounds like a great time you all had and a great write up Raul. Sorry I couldn’t participate at the event.

5. Future Shop Park Royal highlights the connected home and tech coolness | Tech life | A View from the Isle - August 7, 2008

[…] Last night I had the chance to check out the newly renovated Future Shop at Park Royal in West Van with Darren Barefoot and other groovy Vancouver techie people (props to Raul for getting a post off so early–A bunch of geeks at the Future Shop Park Royal opening « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Enviro…). […]

6. Darren - August 7, 2008

@kimli, @gusf No problem, I’ll add you guys to the list.

7. Testing Flickr embedding on WP.com « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 13, 2008

[…] Testing Flickr embedding on WP.com August 13, 2008 Posted by Raul in geekifying myself. Tags: Flickr, geeky, wordpress trackback Danny suggested that I could embed Flickr videos, and since I like to do my own stunts, I am going to test whether they work. So, if they DO work, below you’ll find a couple of videos of our dinner at Browns Social House, after the reopening of Future Shop Park Royal. […]

8. Restaurant review - Browns Social House (West Vancouver) « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - August 14, 2008

[…] the Future Shop Park Royal re-opening, a bunch of us went to Browns Social House for dinner (I think the original thought was just a […]


Leave a Reply

