jump to navigation

Reaffirming a family bond August 12, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts.
trackback

Given the recent events, Mom, my brother and myself have been spending a lot of time together. We spent the weekend with our cousins and uncle, since we believed they would enjoy the company. My brother and I have seen our cousins like our brother and sister, we grew up together, so it was only fitting that we shared this weekend with them.

The past couple of days, I’ve witnessed the same behavioral patterns with my brother and Mom that we used to have before we moved to Canada (or whenever we come for a holiday). The three of us go out on excursions, mini-vacations and short city trips. We go out for coffee or simply take a drive up to a mall.

I also noticed how my brother and I have always had a special bond. Last night, he asked me to join him and see the Dark Knight movie (movie review forthcoming, even if it’s a bit late). Then when Mom picked us up from the movie theatre and before we went to sleep, he asked me to stay in his room with him.

The way our family home is designed, he has his own room and I have mine (both with double beds). Despite the fact that we are no longer kids/adolescents, Mom still keeps our rooms (which is nice for me as I love having a well-equipped home office!).

I found it endearing that he asked me to stay in his room, like I used to do when we were younger. We chatted about life, family, and things like that. He was having chest pains so I woke up every couple of hours just to check on him. And he is now peacefully sleeping in his room while I work on a presentation for a talk I’m giving in a couple of weeks. Every few minutes, I walk over to his room to check how he’s doing.

I am very grateful to the Powers-That-Be to have the family I have.

Comments»

1. Keira-Anne - August 12, 2008

This was a very nice post to wake up to. I am so happy for you that you are rediscovering the beauty in familia.
xo

2. GusF - August 12, 2008

Yeah it’s always amazing how easy it is to reconnect with family. I don’t see my family that often, but when I do, that bond just resolidifies itself. I also realize how much they are missed when they are not around.

Family is important and I think as we get older, we realize just how important that is.

3. talkingtoair - August 12, 2008

This is a beautiful post. I’m sorry to hear about your Aunt.
Enjoy your time with your family.

4. Beth - August 12, 2008

When we were kids, my sister and I used to fight like cats and dogs, but I always wanted to sleep in her room on Christmas Eve. This posting reminded me of that!


Leave a Reply

