jump to navigation

Google Page Rank, Technorati and the like August 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

Yeah, there’s a bit of self-absorbedness in knowing your stats, your Technorati and your Google Page Rank are rising. Yeah, I really don’t care much about these figures. And yeah, as indicated by blogging Jedi Master Rebecca, I do talk about them even though I don’t like talking about MINE.

Why do you do it then, Raul? … you might ask. Well, there are several reasons. The first one is that I don’t actually know much about these figures. For all the blogging I’ve done, I read about a gazillion other things other than tech/blogging. Yeah, time to come out of the closet. I very rarely read about tech issues. Most of the knowledge I get is from people talking about something on Twitter or on their blog or when we have beers or go for lunch, or play Rock Band. I learn about social media by virtue of being IN social media. If I find something that piques my interest, then off I go and examine that particular issue (and read like crazy – just ask me anything about the Emily Gould debacle).

I know, shame on me. Up until earlier last year, I didn’t know how to find people’s RSS feeds, nor did I know that you could use a RSS reader client. Up until earlier the past month, I didn’t know that you could click on the RSS icon on FireFox and you’d get the RSS feed URL. Yep, a lot of things I didn’t know. I’ve learned them by asking, or by sitting side-by-side with people and doing them. As a matter of fact, I learned how to do side-bar widgets by virtue of sitting with Rebecca at the Blackwater Cafe. She patiently walked me through the process. Had she not shown me, I probably would have never gone and checked the WP Codex. Or maybe I would have. Well, actually no. I like it better when people show me how to do things rather than read about them. And Rebecca is a great and patient teacher.

Most of my geeky friends laugh when they see how gleefully I play with their iPhones and how proud I feel when I know how to take a photo. The truth is, bear in mind that, regardless of the fact that I’ve been blogging for 2.5 years, I am still a newbie. And I get excited whenever I accomplish something new on my blog. I am thrilled when I learn something new. Remember, I’m an expert in environmental issues, not a tech geek.

I am thrilled by all this new knowledge. Things that may be completely irrelevant to you (like finding out what Technorati does) are actually exciting to me. Why? Not because I want to boost my Page Rank. No, it’s because just the mere fact that I now know what Technorati does or what Google Juice is, makes me excited. It’s the learning process in and of itself that makes me happy.

When I get bored of learning about tech issues, social media and blogging, you can rest assured of one thing: I’ll quit. Yes, I will. Why? Because as many people have always recommended, I should do this because I am passionate about it. And I’m passionate about learning about social media and about making new friends. THAT is what I love doing. The rest, is just icing in the cake.

The best part of being a blogger for me is that I can still get excited by learning about something I didn’t know very much. It’s also exciting to see how fast-paced the tech world is. Environment still amazes me, but the speed of change is completely different. I know ten different methods to treat wastewater. These methods have been used for 50 years and entire municipalities still don’t treat their water (*cough* Victoria, B.C. *cough*).

My stats, Technorati and Google PR are really irrelevant for what I do, since as I have told my friends, I blog for myself. I don’t get business out of blogging. I won’t get a job as an assistant professor at a university because I am a blogger. I *might* get freelance writing work because people read my blog. But right now, I don’t get any $$$ out of it. But I want to be able to have the right tools SHOULD I WANT TO monetize my blog or use what I’ve learned in a professional environment, or become a professional blogger. And THEN, I will actually care about my stats, Technorati and Google Page Rank. Until then, I just want to know what they are and how they work.

And this was a really long winded post to explain something really minor 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

