jump to navigation

Contacts, glasses and geekery August 18, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

As many of you may have read, I have new contacts and I’m putting them to good use. It’s still an adjustment, but I don’t like my current glasses and thus I decided to buy contacts again. As I am about to head out for dinner with a very close friend of mine, I was looking through my list of online friends, and just about everyone uses glasses. Is being a geek associated with some degree of normal vision loss? Do you wear glasses/contacts? What do you prefer, glasses or contacts?

Comments»

1. Beth - August 18, 2008

You already know this, but I wore contacts up until 3 days ago. Laser eye surgery all the way!

2. gusgreeper - August 18, 2008

i wear both i don’t really like either very much but such is life i can’t see without them.

3. Karen - August 18, 2008

I prefer glasses when lazing about or working all day in front of a monitor. I’ll wear contacts when dancing, playing sports, special occasions, or when I just want to feel dolled up =)

4. Phaedra - August 18, 2008

I prefer my contacts, but I have a lack of tears being produced in my ducts which gives me extreme dry eyes. My eye doctor suggest wearing them only 50% of the time.

I am seriously considering laser eye surgery.

5. Tyler Ingram - August 19, 2008

I don’t wear glasses or contacts. I worn glasses for like a few months back in grade 3 and never wore them again. I don’t have 20/20 vision but I have no issues with my sight that i can tell. (if I remember i lied on my eye exam because i wanted glasses lol)

If I had to choose I would probably want to wear a pair of glasses if they looked good on me. I don’t know something about a good pair of glasses can look sexy!

My gf on the other hand has both. She normally wears her contacts because she doesn’t like how she looks in her glasses. But if she’s been wearing her contacts for a while she’ll switch to her glasses to give her eyes a rest too.

6. Tania - August 19, 2008

A friend of mine encouraged me to get laser surgery – my reaction was sadness at the thought of not getting to wear fancy frames anymore! I have been known to go through spurts of wearing contacts exclusively, but it never lasts. Frames for me!

7. Marina - August 19, 2008

I have glasses with a very light prescription for watching movies and seeing the whiteboard from the back oft he room. Maybe it’s because I don’t wear them all of the time but I don’t mind my glasses.

The idea of contacts makes my stomach churn. I can’t imagine trying to put something in my eye. I tried color contacts when I was in high school: wore them out of the store, took them off when I got home and NEVER wore them again.

8. Ryan Cousineau - August 19, 2008

I’ve gone back and forth on contacts and glasses over the years. These days I mostly wear glasses, except when playing sports or riding my bike. The biggest problem is that wearing contacts much more than 10 hours in a day usually gets uncomfortable by the end.

TLO definitely prefers contacts on a day-to-day basis, but tries to take ’em out after 10-12 hours.

9. Beth - August 20, 2008

@Phaedra You should *totally* get laser eye surgery! Best thing I ever did!

10. Danny Dang - August 20, 2008

I wear both. I usually wear my contacts during the day. I do feel like a geek with my glasses though!

11. Jodi - August 21, 2008

my eyeballs are very high maintenance. The only type of contacts that really address all of their issues are hard contacts. These are a pain to wear and not as convenient as soft. They are a commitment. I’ve tried soft, they don’t address all my issues.

I’ve worn glasses since I was 3. It’s part of who I am, I guess. I sometimes have soft contacts around, I will wear them for special occasions.

I have an appointment today for a new prescription. Unfortunately, I think I need bifocals.


Leave a Reply

