jump to navigation

Vancouver Blogger Meetup August 2008 and September 2008 August 22, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, social networking, Vancouver Blogger Meetup.
Tags:
trackback

Earlier last week, I sent out a message to the Vancouver Bloggers Meetup list-serve asking whether people would like to have an August 2008 meetup or wait until September 2008. As many of you may remember, the July 2008 Vancouver Bloggers Meetup was a resounding success. I want to keep it that way.

If you need a photographic reminder of how awesome our past Meetup was, you can look at Karen’s and Cecily’s Flickr accounts, as well as mine.

Now, here’s the thing. I am not in Vancouver, as most of you know. Therefore, I can’t physically organize the August meeting. I’ll be back in Vancouver around mid-September, but we also have BarCamp 2008 in September (you must have known about this as we all blogged about it!).

So, I did a tally of the responses. I clustered the No, Maybe and I Don’t Care responses into basically “Not-Yes” (e.g. a response that isn’t Yes — God, I’m such a Captain Obvious!). Anyhow, the email tally is completely tied. 8 people said Yes and 8 people didn’t. Colleen and Keith were Twittering last night about how it might be better to send this VBM to September (an opinion that Isabella shared, and a number of other respondents to my survey)

I recognize that this date may be a tad too close to BarCamp Vancouver 2008, but if you think about what the Vancouver Bloggers Meetup is, (and I quote), “over time it’s become a close-knit group of friends who enjoy each other’s company” (David Drucker on the Vancouver Bloggers Meetup site, comment for July 29, 2008), the VBM is basically us (friends) getting all together to geek out and talk about stuff (as very appropriately said by Jan Karlsbjerg). So, let’s take a relaxed approach and do it in September instead.

To try and incorporate the majority of the feedback I got from everyone who responded, I decided to organize it for September 25th, 2008. Before I get smothered (I know, we’re going to be super busy for BarCamp Vancouver), let me suggest that we do it as a casual get-together. If we need to talk shop and do some fine-tuning about BarCamp (most of the organizing committee is also on VBM), we could always do that. Let’s take it as a relaxed, friendly get-together, and thank you Rebecca for suggesting that something might be done and potentially associate it with National Digital Media Day.

Rebecca is co-organizing with Jon Husband the Blogging portion of NDMD. [UPDATE – Sorry Rebecca, I think I jumped the gun! Ok, so here is the link to the Save-The-Date for NDMD] [ SIDE NOTE – Rebecca, I don’t know how you do it, you’re also involved with New Forms Festival 2008! I have the feeling we’re going to have a VIDFEST 2008 redux 🙂 ] Isabella had suggested doing something at her house, but we can always fine-tune the details as we get closer to the date. One thing you can be assured: two words – LARGER VENUE.

I really hope I didn’t disappoint those who wanted a VBM in August, but honestly, the September date works much better I think (even for me). Feedback, as always, appreciated. And… I miss you guys, I really do.

Comments»

1. nancy (aka money coach) - August 22, 2008

I’m in, for Sept! Thanks for organizing – it’s one of my favourite meetups, for sure.

2. isabella mori - August 22, 2008

hey there … no problem holding it at my place. it’s in south vancouver, 45th between fraser and knight, super accessible via transit (5 buses) and a nice drive down fraser street (which most people don’t know is one of the most pleasant north-south connections). no helipad, though 🙂

7:00? potluck?

and we’ll work on the WiFi. hopefully we can open it up without too many problems.

3. ddrucker - August 23, 2008

Will try to make it. With the next day being the BarCamp Vancouver party, I might have my hands full (hard to say at this point).

4. Barbara Doduk - August 23, 2008

Umm Isabella that is close by, so I think all things considered I might actually be able to swing this meetup.

PS every week for me is Bar Camp hahaha. Oh my liver.

5. isabella mori - August 24, 2008

oh, that’s gonna be a week thick with blogging. but why not, huh?

still hoping to hear word that i can participate in barcamp.

6. crunchy carpets - September 2, 2008

Wow isabella is like a neighbour…if I can swing child watching..I should actually be able to make it…


Leave a Reply

