jump to navigation

An attempt to shift my lifestyle September 1, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags: , ,
trackback
Photo by Nomade Moderne.

Photo by Nomade Moderne.

Every few weeks, I make a reflective post, mostly on the state of my own health and wellbeing (although I’ve also written about how my life has evolved). I’ve had some scares before. I once blacked out for 1.5 hours, another time I was sick for about three weeks, and every week-long social media events leaves me usually exhausted and wanting to cocoon for the rest of the year (see my VIDFEST posts for more details).

The time I’ve spent with my family these past few weeks has left me pondering whether I want to continue leading the lifestyle I’ve had for much longer. As somebody once told me, “even hummingbirds need to rest“. I know that I’ve become popular as the ultra-speedy, fast-reader, fast-writer, uncanny photographic memory Hummingbird604. But I am also a human being who can also get really tired and feel overwhelmed.

Celebrations May 17 2008-10

I plan to take time to smell the flowers, not run around them.
I will try to commit to less things, be it academic or social media or just social stuff.
I will write if/when I feel like it, not when I feel obligated to.
I care VERY little about my stats, but I do care about my friends and my readers, which is the reason why I won’t stop blogging.
I know that everything will be ok, all I need is to SLOW DOWN.

More than anything, I realize that despite the circumstances of my trip to Mexico, I am VERY, very happy. Happy to be alive, happy to be able to help my family go through difficult times, and mostly, just happy to be me.

Comments»

1. shanegibson - September 1, 2008

This is really great Raul. Our soul talks to us all of the time. We just need to be silent and still to hear it’s gentle whisper. 🙂

2. Beth - September 2, 2008

Raul – I hope you don’t think that you are popular because of your ultra-speed, fast-reading, fast-writing, or your photographic memory. That makes it sound like you feel as if people like you for what you produce. People value you for who you are, not what you make.

3. In The Sphere: What’s New? | BlueFur.com - September 5, 2008

[…] buzzing around from one interest to another. In his effort for change, Raul is now deciding to shift his lifestyle to something a little slower and more manageable. No need to feel […]

4. Overextending yourself « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - October 3, 2008

[…] I always try to find that elusive point where there is balance in my life. I have proclaimed before my intent to shift my lifestyle, and for a while there, I’ve been somewhat […]


Leave a Reply

