jump to navigation

How to insert “blogger” into my CV? September 2, 2008

Posted by Raul in academic life, blogosphere, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So I’m updating my resume (not the CV, which is more academic) and I’m trying to figure out a good way to insert all the non-paid blogging I’ve done. I have the skills, I know some HTML and a bit about CMS (not that I’m a Joomla! or Drupal or even WordPress geek, but heck I do know some stuff, and I do my own stunts).

I thought of writing something like this

“2006 – to date – Owner, writer and editor, Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment, also known as Hummingbird604.com. -“

But I’m sort of at a loss as to what else to write. It’s not like I’m a professional blogger, but I want to “sell” those skills I have already.

Then, under Skills I was going to insert something like

– Basic HTML, Content Management Systems.

I dunno. I’ve never actually had these skills and this newfound knowledge until I started blogging, so I’m sort of at a loss. I mean, I do have a 2 page resume that presents me as an environmental consultant, but I want to be able to speak to what I know about social media, etc., and use those new skills in a new job.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Comments»

1. Karen Murphy - September 2, 2008

I just read recently that employers look seriously at an applicant’s blog to help round out the picture of who they are. You’re also very involved in the local scene (restaurant reviews, Meetup, tech stuff etc) and that’s a huge plus. It should all go on there somewhere. Sorry I’m not more specific.

2. Robert Ballantyne - September 2, 2008

The real issue is: who do you want to appreciate what you put in your rés? It should be a marketing tool, and is therefore more about the recipient than it is about you. About the recipients, then, I am guessing. That said, maybe by selecting ‘blogging’ your focus is too tight. Isn’t blogging just a part of your story? You might consider something along the lines of: “One of Vancouver’s most active and passionate electronic social networkers with an international following for articles posted on blogs, twitter (what else?).” Depending on how you would use this résumé, you can quantify aspects of this. You may want to mention your public speaking on this subject. I suspect that you would use these skills to teach others — so you would not be looking to have someone pay you to blog. The rés would illustrate more about your knowledge of how to keep people’s interest, and use the emerging technology, than about the substance of the blog articles.

3. Beth - September 2, 2008

Along the lines of what Robert is saying about the resume being about the recipient, not about you: I tailor my CV to each application. So you’d need to know what type of skills the place you are applying to is looking for, and then highlight those.

4. Matt - September 2, 2008

Another idea, depending on the type of position you’re looking for: there’s always the option of focusing more on the technology than the content. E.g. “familiarity with web-based blogging and collaboration software: wordpress, drupal, …..”

But I do agree with the above commenters that your blog’s content would represent nicely to an employer.


Leave a Reply

