jump to navigation

Restaurant review – Sushi Maro (Yaletown) September 18, 2008

Posted by Raul in dining out, friends, Vancouver, Yaletown.
trackback

Karen and I hadn’t seen each other in ages (well, not really… only since she invited me to brunch for Pride) and even though we are both involved in the Vancouver tech community, for some reason sometimes we don’t coincide at the same events. At any rate, she wanted to meet before the BarCamp Vancouver 2008 organizational meeting (SIDE NOTE – BarCamp happens this coming Friday/Saturday, Sep 26/27) and so we decided on a downtown meet place.

While I rejected any sushi for about three years while I recovered from a painful breakup, I am now again a fan of sushi, as you can see from my posts reviewing Kirin Sushi in New Westminster, all the Kishu’s in town (Kishu Mountain and Kishu River), and Kaide Sushi in Yaletown, to name but a few.

I had never been to Sushi Maro but since Karen suggested a Yaletown location (and that works fine with me as the BarCamp meeting is in Gastown) I thought “heck, why not? …. a chance to meet a good friend and a potential restaurant review”.

We both had the $ 7.00 special (18 pieces of sushi and a miso soup). While some people may think that it’s not such a great idea to eat at those “hole in the wall” kind of sushi places, I really enjoyed the sushi, it’s great food and I am definitely not going to complain. I would come back to Sushi Maro any day.

Sushi Maro on Urbanspoon

Comments»

1. Don - September 18, 2008

NOOOOO! Raulie don’t be telling anyone else about reasonably priced dining options in Yaletown. They are mine, all mine, just for me!

2. Urban Dweller - September 18, 2008

Yes this place is fantastic. I dine there from time to time. Nice review

3. Raul - September 24, 2008

@ Don – Sorry Don! Not intentionally I swear 😀

@ Urban Dweller – It’s a great place, I didn’t know about it until Karen told me!


Leave a Reply

