jump to navigation

The magic number four in friendships September 20, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

Have you noticed how most movies and TV series show sets of four friends? Most successful movies I’ve seen about friendships (both all-male and all-female) are based on four friends, whose connections and linkages are usually super strong amongst all of them. For example, Stand by Me (4 boys), Sex and the City (4 women) and Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (4 girls).

Also, have you noticed how the houses in trees (tree houses?) are always perfect in these movies? I was just watching “Now and Then” (with Melanie Griffith, Demi Moore, Rita Wilson and Rosie O’Donnell) and the tree house was amazing! I wish my parents had built one like that for me!

When I was in high school, I had a group of 7 friends whose relationship was really strong with me, but theirs was not really all that strong (although some were really close friends as well). As time has gone by and I’ve grown older, I’ve realized that it’s not necessary to have the exact same intensity of friendship amongst all the friends who are now in various groups. For example, my usual Friday night group (C. B. L, JN) are all good friends amongst themselves and with me, and my offline gang are also good friends with each other, but it’s not a requirement. I don’t need a set of four ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments»

1. Jodi - September 20, 2008

hey, I heard it was your birthday! Happy Birthday!

2. JN - September 20, 2008

่ช•็”Ÿๆ—ฅใŠใ‚ใงใจใ†๏ผŸ

Oh man, thanks for the call-out. I wish my Friday nights were like the past… I’ll be back.


Leave a Reply

