jump to navigation

Restaurant review – Salt Tasting Room (Gastown) – NDMD ’08 September 25, 2008

Posted by Raul in dining out, friends, Gastown, National Digital Media Day 2008, NDMD08.
Tags: ,
trackback

As you can gather from Rebecca’s NDMD 08 – Gastown post, we had a great time at Salt Tasting Room. We got there only expecting to see Anthony Nicalo, but we were very pleasantly surprised to find Nadia, Jenn, Kris, Tris too. We had ordered two meat platters to share, and we then followed those with two cheese platters (of which, I have to say, despite my hating cheese, I did eat a tiny, tiny, tiny bit. It’s been captured on Anthony’s camera, so I can’t deny that yes, I’ve tasted cheese this 2008).

Lunch at Salt Tasting Room (Gastown) - NDMD '08

While I recognize that the location may be perceived as somewhat sketchy (in Blood Alley), we didn’t feel any bit unsafe, and the place is really beautiful. The service was fantastic, and Anthony brought wines to pair with all the meats and cheeses. I would mention here these cheeses and meats, but I forgot to bring the cheat sheets.

Lunch at Salt Tasting Room (Gastown) - NDMD '08

The company was really good, it was also a treat to just hang out for a little bit. I got an opportunity to see Salt’s wine cellar and I got some video too, which I hope to post really soon. It was a real lesson in wine, I tell you. More photos in my Flickr stream.

Salt is definitely a great concept, as a tasting room. The platters are not really all that expensive, considering the concept (around $15-17 for a cheese and for a meat platter). The butcher platter was great, most definitely. We were treated to delicacies in both realms (cheese and meat) although as mentioned above, I’m not a cheese eater ๐Ÿ™‚

Salt Tasting Room on Urbanspoon

Comments»

1. Keira-Anne - September 25, 2008

I love, love, love, love Salt.

2. songsinblue - September 25, 2008

I didn’t know it was possible to hate cheese! I haven’t had a kind I didn’t like ๐Ÿ™‚

3. sean Orr - September 25, 2008

Looks like you had Ash Camembert, a locally made cheese with the ash of Rosemary and Juniper Berries paired with Marcona Almonds, then you have Blue Des Basques from Spain paired with Similkameen Apricot Jam, then the Roaring 40s Blue from Australia paired with honeycomb. If you haven’t had blue cheese and honey you are missing out!

4. Raul - September 26, 2008

@ Keira-Anne – I *love* it too!

@ Dayna – Um… It’s something I don’t understand. Granted, I am also lactose intolerant…

@ Sean – Thanks so much for the explanation! Yeah, I’ve heard that blue cheese and honey is some sort of heaven ๐Ÿ™‚ Too bad I missed you, we were there yesterday, not sure if you were there.

5. Biodynamic wines and sustainability - The Farmstead Wines « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - September 30, 2008

[…] Tags: biodynamic wine, eco-wine trackback Last week I had the pleasure of having lunch at Salt Tasting Room and enjoy for the very first time some of the Farmstead wines . Despite the fact that I missed […]


Leave a Reply

