jump to navigation

Overextending yourself October 3, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am no one to speak when it comes to overextending and over-committing myself. I work really long hours and try very hard to complete all my projects and meet my deadlines. But I do know that sometimes I commit to way too many social engagements and in spite of being an extrovert and gaining energy from interacting in social situations, I also get physically exhausted.

I was just talking on the phone with one of my brothers and he sounded incredibly exhausted. All my brothers work really, really hard (it runs in the family I guess), but we all promise that we will try to find balance. I think that this has been the toughest point for me. What do you say NO to and what do you say YES to? I live to the fullest, and I sometimes suffer to the same extent. But I always try to find that elusive point where there is balance in my life. I have proclaimed before my intent to shift my lifestyle, and for a while there, I’ve been somewhat successful.

The past couple of weeks have been crazy (and the upcoming weekend seems like it too), and in some ways, I think it was a mistake for me to take on so many events and agree upon so many activities on the first week that I arrived back in Vancouver. However, it’s Friday and I feel well, as I have not over committed myself.

Every so often I post one of this “yeah I’m going to stop overextending myself” and sometimes I can’t help but do it still, but I’m working on it. At least I didn’t do anything this week.

Comments»

1. raincoaster - October 3, 2008

I know how you feel. Today I worked like a nutbar, then woke up after dark on my sofa; it had just become so gorgeous to me at some point that I stumbled over and konked out!


Leave a Reply

