jump to navigation

Helping those in need – John Chow’s matching donations for UGM’s Thanksgiving Dinner and Rebecca Bollwitt’s Third Tuesday Food Drive October 7, 2008

Posted by Raul in Blogathon, Blogathon 2008, blogosphere, charities, friends, homelessness, Vancouver.
trackback

John Chow does know very well that I don’t blog for money, but that I’m always up for joining forces when it comes to social media for charity and social change. Thus, I was very happy when I saw that John was engaging in raising funds for the Union Gospel Mission ‘s upcoming Thanksgiving Dinner on October 13th, 2008 (which by the way is a kick-off for Homelessness Action Week). John is going to match every donation made to the UGM dollar per dollar up to $ 1,000.

As you may all recall, Rebecca and Duane Blogathoned for the UGM, and their campaign received a big boost at the end of the campaign thanks to Matt Good. Their collective all helped raise thousands of dollars for the UGM during Blogathon 2008. The UGM is a really worthy cause and it’s great that all these awesome bloggers have raised funds for them, so I’d encourage you to do the same.

And while we are at it, please also consider contributing to Rebecca’s Third Tuesday Food Drive. She is doing this for the Greater Vancouver Food Bank Society , and I’d like to encourage my readers to donate non-perishable items (you can bring them to Third Tuesday).

I’ve been thinking of what can I contribute (in addition to highlighting the events and contributing with as little or as much money/non-perishable goods as I can) and I thought of throwing in a little something.

I haven’t yet thought of what else I can contribute, but I am guessing I could throw in a free, beginners, 2-hr salsa lesson for the largest contributor to both fundraising efforts — how’s that? Would people be interested in learning how to salsa dance? (I’ve taught this stuff already, so trust me, you’re in good hands). Or I could enter all participants who contribute to any of the two causes in a draw for the lesson?

At any rate, I would encourage you to contribute, remember, every bit helps.

Comments»

1. John Chow - October 7, 2008

Thanks for the press! To clear one thing up. I’m not matching donation up to $1,000. I’m matching donations up to $1,000 per person. If 10 donors give $1,000 each, I’m giving $10,000.

Thanks!

2. raincoaster - October 7, 2008

That’s pretty awesome, John. Thanks for getting the word out, Raul. I’m putting it on http://FearlessCity.ca as well.

3. raincoaster - October 8, 2008

And he just announced that he’ll match Quinton’s $1100 donation, too. Again I say, pretty fucking awesome.


Leave a Reply

