jump to navigation

Restaurant review – The Kings Head (Kitsilano) October 7, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

While I have gotten to a point where more and more I only eat brunch at my trusty Nice Cafe or Rhizome or Crave on Main, once in a while I have to get out of my comfort zone.

This past weekend was one of those times, as C, B and L asked me to meet them at The Kings Head. I have had brunch here before, and one time I must have come here for drinks. It’s inexpensive, although I have to admit that even though I got a “Beggar’s Breakfast” (I think that’s the spelling), I didn’t feel as full and satisfied as I usually do at The Nice Cafe.

The place’s decor is quite eclectic, with lots of wood and each booth is marked (some booth’s names are “Mexico”, “Nova Scotia”, “England”). Very cute place, good service (prompt), the eggs, sausage and toast were about the same as you would get anywhere else (although I have to say that still my favorites are Nice Cafe and Crave on Main, with Rhizome a very, very close second).

It was nice to venture out of my own comfort zone and head down to Kitsilano for a change, but with so much work, I had to come home really early (bear in mind that the weather has been horrible so, really, who wants to stay out? I certainly don’t).

Kings Head on Urbanspoon

Comments»

1. raincoaster - October 7, 2008

The King’s Head for brunch? I used to be a regular there but would never think of it for brunch. It’s so dark! It’s very much a booze night knees-up kinda place, full of students, or was certainly when I was a regular there. I lived off their burgers and potato skins and girl drinks.

2. Barbara Doduk - October 7, 2008

Oh lookie, you’re number 1 on UrbanSpoon again. 🙂

Thanks for commenting on my blog, I read you all the time too, same dealie, don’t comment unless I feel I have some purpose in it.

Cheers

3. Urban Dweller - October 7, 2008

I usually head out there for dinner. It’s a great place with exceptional service. Awesome burgers.

4. Michael Kwan - October 8, 2008

I enjoy your restaurant reviews, but pictures would certainly spruce them up!

5. Raul - October 8, 2008

I know, Michael – most of my more recent restaurant reviews include photos, but this one doesn’t as I didn’t have a camera at the time 🙂


Leave a Reply

