jump to navigation

Canadian Thanksgiving October 8, 2008

Posted by Raul in dining out, friends, personal life, random thoughts.
Tags:
trackback

I am aware that some of my close friends are having an early Canadian Thanksgiving. Last year I spent it with HZ and CS, as well as a few other friends.

In previous years, my PhD supervisor invited us all for Canadian Thanksgiving. This year, I think I’m going to probably have to attend at least one dinner, and I’ve noticed that it’s not as relevant to Canadians as American Thanksgiving is to Americans. So my question to you is… what are YOU doing for Canadian Thanksgiving?

Comments»

1. raincoaster - October 10, 2008

I think I may volunteer, either at Union Gospel Mission or the Mission to Mariners, serving up dinners. I’ve got an invitation to someone’s family dinner which would be nice, but I think it might be a better and more meaningful experience to help and then sit down with people I wouldn’t ordinarily interact with. The Mariner’s mission in particular is important, as we often have people from all over the world in port and they don’t know about Thanksgiving, and it means more to them for us to share our ceremonies with them. I know when I was travelling I was most moved by the times the local people invited us to participate in their traditions.


Leave a Reply

