jump to navigation

Branding and uniqueness in social media October 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in random thoughts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Recently, online discussions on Apple’s recent logo fight with a Victoria-based school have brought one element back to my attention – branding and uniqueness. The foundation for Apple’s fight is that the Victoria school logo is not unique enough to be undistinguishable from Apple’s very distinct and trademarked apple. So, that made me reflect – what makes a blogger/PR person/tekkie/writer/social media maven unique? For that matter, what makes US unique, each one of us?

Recently, people have asked me “what do you blog about” with certain frequency, and I usually respond “my blog is about my life in Vancouver, or if you wish, Vancouver seen through my eyes“. I do write about my research, about restaurants, about technology, about environment. True. But I also write about the things I do here, hanging out with my friends, having brunch at The Nice Cafe, strolling in Stanley Park, etc. My blog IS hyperlocal and sort of Vancouver-Lower-Mainland-centric in many ways, but I write about this region from my perspective and seen through my eyes.

However, I’m not sure that’s my brand. So I now extend the question to you.

a) Do you think about your own brand? and

b) If so, what would be your brand? Or what makes you unique?

I recognize that these are really tough questions to answer (unless of course you’re in a job interview!) but I think these are questions worth reflecting on. At least, I do ask them myself – what makes Raul unique? What is Raul’s brand?

Are social media or marketing the only arenas where branding is relevant?

Comments»

1. what’s your brand? « Soggy City - October 17, 2008

[…] Floor, hummingbird604, vancouver blogoshpere Continuing our skip around the VanCity blogoshpere, Raul at Hummingbird604 asks us to consider our appearance…mine’s […]

2. Barbara Doduk - October 17, 2008

Oooo Ick. Labeling me isn’t my priority. I don’t consider myself a sell able commodity that requires branding. If I were say Miss 604 or John Chow, and selling myself to earn money by blogging, I suppose I would feel differently.

I’m a personal blogger. I just write a blog… I’m no one important.

I think this from Wiki sums it up:
“a personal blog, an ongoing diary or commentary by an individual, is the traditional, most common blog. Personal bloggers usually take pride in their blog posts, even if their blog is never read by anyone but them. Blogs often become more than a way to just communicate; they become a way to reflect on life or works of art. Blogging can have a sentimental quality. Few personal blogs rise to fame and the mainstream…”

I’ve had a web site with a personal journal on it, for 11 years. To this day, if I am the only one reading it, or if 1,000s read it, I will still do it, for me alone… until I get tired of it.

3. Jeremy Lim - October 17, 2008

Barbara, I’d have to disagree.

We wake up every morning, and do the same things. We dress ourselves a certain way. We talk to people a certain way. He do our jobs a certain way. We push extra hard when something doesn’t feel right. It’s our identity, it’s our brand.

A brand isn’t a slogan, a name, a logo … it’s an experience. It’s what people associate you with. It’s not something you control, either – only something you can influence. Brand is totally outside you. It’s how the world sees you. Being comfortable with yourself and the things you do is the most important part, but the interaction we have with the rest of the world are largely based on how we portray ourselves – however cynical that may seem.

So Raul, to answer your questions:

1) Yes. All the time.
2) I have a tagline I developed for a project I’m working. I brought it onto myself because I loved it so much. “born to inspire”. I really hope that’s accurate.

Jeremy
Outcome3 Vancouver Internet Marketing

P.S. Barbara, I just read your blog. You’re no longer alone.

4. Raul - October 18, 2008

@ Barbara – Um, I would just like to clarify the “and selling myself to earn money by blogging”, I think you mean “selling ads on my blog to earn money by blogging”, right?

5. Matthew Mcgarnickle - October 18, 2008

So does Chris Martin’s baby get sued cause it’s name is Apple? My favorite story is when Mike Rosoft was sued by Bill Gates… classic!

6. Barbara Doduk - October 21, 2008

Okay first time I’ve made it back here. I have put up a post on my blog to respond because I found myself intrigued by this. Check out “Emotional Branding

PS, anytime you want to meet for Tea let me know, I only live less than 5 minutes drive away.


Leave a Reply

