jump to navigation

Restaurant review – Zipang Sushi (Main Street – Mount Pleasant) October 20, 2008

Posted by Raul in dining out, Main Street, Mount Pleasant, sushi, Vancouver.
Tags: ,
trackback

I know that I had promised a professor who is a really good friend of mine that I wouldn’t review Zipang Sushi to ensure that the place didn’t get even more crowded (lately, I’ve been lucky to find out that people have started to flock to the places I’ve recommended for dinner or brunch, when I come for a return visit, and I am slightly afraid this will be the case with Zipang – but at the same time, it’s crowded already, so I guess I am just going to add a bit more crowding to the system, hehe)

Some people may argue that this is technically Riley Park/Little Mountain. We arrived at 5.20pm on a Saturday evening and the place was packed already. We had a garden fruit sushi roll and a California roll (we weren’t all that hungry, but it was more than plenty for the both of us). The rolls are very flavorful and as somebody mentioned, real works of art (I would’ve taken photos, but I was out and about shopping with my very good friend AF, so I didn’t have a camera with me).

Specialty rolls are slightly more expensive ($6.75-8.75) but very much worth it. The rest of the rolls are priced reasonably (like the majority of Vancouver sushi restaurants, around $3.00). Admittedly, the service can be quite slow (and if you’re hungry, that’s not a good idea) but the sushi is simply amazing.

I would definitely come back, but (a) I’ll make sure I’m hungrier so I can try more types of sushi (b) will bring a camera with me and (c) will arrive exactly at 5:00pm to ensure I’m not waiting forever! Closes on Mondays, just so that you know.

Zipang Sushi on Urbanspoon

Comments»

1. crunchycarpets - October 20, 2008

One of my fave sushi places.but yes ALWAYS crazy..but yummy sushi and nice friendly service

2. Danny Dang - October 20, 2008

My favourite neighborhood sushi place! I love how they assemble little scenes consisting of the sushi you ordered.

3. shanegibson - October 23, 2008

Just wanted to say congrats re: Being #1 on Urban Spoon again 🙂


Leave a Reply

