jump to navigation

Toasting to a great beginning of the week! October 22, 2008

Posted by Raul in personal life, random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags: ,
trackback

You may have read that I had a really wonderful weekend. You may also have read (on Twitter) that I have been feeling amazingly positive and energetic and hopeful and lucky. That wasn’t the case last week.

FreeWine (Flickr)

Credit: FreeWine (Flickr)

The reasons behind this mood change are many, but primarily associated with feeling healthy again and having gotten really positive feedback for the really hard work for the project I completed last week. Also, a really positive comment (encouraging me to apply to the Berkman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University) also made my day.

I am not going to deny that last week (particularly by the end of it), I felt pretty crappy (emotionally drained and somewhat bummed, and physically exhausted and sick). But one thing I’ve been reminded many, many times is that – the darkest hour is just before dawn.

I found this photograph extremely compelling and descriptive of how I feel. I just need to keep paddling to reach great heights and achieve the successes I feel I deserve because I have worked so hard.

I’m not writing in a self-absorbed attempt to glorify the current state of affairs. I want to just remind myself (and share with the world my joy) because truthfully, I didn’t think I was going to ever get to this point again.

Yes, I am enthusiastic. Yes, I am always thinking in positive ways. But when it’s dark, and rainy, and gloomy, I too feel down, sometimes. I’m grateful that it is not something that happens frequently, but I too sometimes feel as though it’s just me against the world. And then… something happens that just cheers me up. A friend talks to me on GTalk. Another one sends me a direct message on Twitter. Another group of friends force me to go out and enjoy a good meal or a drink and the company of good friends, or just a walk in a park, or watching movies and ordering sushi in.

That point, that precise point, when I have finished each one of those activities, has been a stepping stone for me. At each and every one of those points, I was shown affection, love, genuine care, support and solidarity. And I cherished it. And I relished in it. A smile on my face has been a constant throughout this weekend.

I have great talents (and lets be honest, modesty, really, is not one of them) but even better, I have great people around me. So, on a Monday night, I toast to those of you who keep me sane, who keep me real, who never let my success get to my head, or my difficulties drown me. Thanks, many, many thanks.

It’s going to be a great week.

EDIT – As you can see, I wrote it on Monday and published on Wednesday. I still feel awesome.

Comments»

1. Phaedra - October 23, 2008

Glad to hear you are feeling better and super positive. It looks good on you!


Leave a Reply

