jump to navigation

Geek as a compliment October 24, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know that I pride myself in doing my own stunts. I write most of my HTML meta-tags by hand, almost never use the visual editor, and I did the whole redirection of my blog URL (hummingbird604.com) and registration all by myself (with the very capable guidance of Rebecca). Heck, I even have the geek-wear to prove it!

A couple of months back, I was talking with someone (can’t recall exactly who it was) and with Rebecca, and I praised said person “you ARE a geek“. Rebecca was very quick to explain “to Raul, that is actually a compliment, so you should take it that way“. It’s true. If I ever tell you that you ARE a geek, I am complimenting you.

The nouns “nerd“, “geek” and “dork” have been ostracized for so long that, for many people, they have negative and derogatory connotations.

Not for me. I am actually proud of my geekification. Before I started using WordPress, and before I started blogging, I knew nothing about RSS feeds, Web 2.0, domain propagation, clean URLs, hashtags, Twitter, and all that jazz. I now feel comfortable even speaking about cloud computing!

(Hat tips to Anthony Nicalo who just tweeted about how he was trying to gain geek credibility – Anthony, I think you’re pretty geeky alright!).

Comments»

1. Eric - October 24, 2008

I remember taking one of those pointless quizzes a long time ago to determine if I was one of nerd, geek, or dork. I have since used the distinct definitions provided at the end of the quiz as my benchmark (geek = life-long learner/generalist), but this can surely bring out a discussion that all three are just terms for the same thing.

Geeks unite!

2. Stephen Rees - October 24, 2008

I do not want to be a geek. I have no interest in how it is done – I just want it to happen. When I am forced to code “by hand” I think the platform I am working on has failed me. For me content is king and I cannot be distracted by css and whatever “hashtags” might be. I feel the same way about my car. I have not once lifted the hood since I took delivery, and sincerely hope I never have to. It’s just transportation not a hobby. I enjoy blogging but I Hate Computers

3. Tyler Ingram - October 24, 2008

I an a geek! I am proud to be a geek. I had a conversation with a friend about the difference between a geek and a nerd and we came to the conclusion that…

geek = passionate and knowledgeable of tech-gadget etc.

nerd = passionate about books and such…..

Though I always found to be passionate about higher-learning etc.. you know they got straight A’s throughout school, did extra work for just praise etc..

Where as I have been around computers for over 22yrs and I like to think myself pretty tech savvy 😉

dork = whale penis

btw isn’t META tags what you use in the of an HTML document. It lists things such as keywords and a short description of the page being loaded?


Leave a Reply

