jump to navigation

The Vancouver Book of Everything November 3, 2008

Posted by Raul in random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags:
trackback

I know for a fact that Rebecca Bollwitt is an amazing history and geography buff.  If you have any shadow of a doubt, just read her Vancouver History series! She has, by and large, some of the best historical bits of Vancouver documented on her site.

When we were doing our Metro Vancouver-wide National Digital Media Day live-blog, Rebecca gave me little historical and geographical tidbits of various parts of Vancouver. I can’t recall the last time I had so much fun discovering the city that I call home now.

So I thought that she probably might like this book I came across while browsing some books with Ianiv and Arieanna this past weekend: The Vancouver Book of Everything.

From the quick browse I did, this book has a lot of interesting trivia and facts on the city. While the book seems to be well-researched and sourced, there were parts where I would have liked the authors to provide links to the facts they were indicating. Call me over-zealous, but as an academic, I have made it my life to properly source and attribute. And as a blogger, I have learned from some of the best bloggers in Vancouver some of the rules on how to properly attribute content, link back, etc.

But overall, I liked the book. I haven’t bought it but I figured that it must be a good investment for people who live in the city. If you’re interested in learning more about this book, click on the photo above and you will reach the editorial’s site.

EDIT- I *just* found out that my friend Karen Quinn Fung has a little text box in the book, so I am now a bit tempted to go and buy the book. Maybe some other of my friends may even have stuff in there too!

Comments»

1. Matthew Collinge - November 3, 2008

I think they sent me one of these although for the life of me I can’t remember where it is. They had a booth Royal Lepage conference I attended in Sept. They are working doing these for all the major Canadian cities I understand.

2. Merrill Heubach, MacIntyre Purcell Publishing - November 4, 2008

Hi Matthew,

Saw your comment on this site. I am the one who sent you the Vancouver Book of Everything. Met you in St. John’s. Need another complimentary copy????

Will call.

Merrill

3. Vancouver Book of Everything » Vancouver Blog Miss 604 by Rebecca Bollwitt - November 12, 2008

[…] you to pick up your copy (or a copy of visitors/out-of-towners) for $14.95 at Chapters (as Raul noted) and at other fine book […]


Leave a Reply

