jump to navigation

Differentiated rights? The unfortunate passing of Proposition 8 November 5, 2008

Posted by Raul in random thoughts.
trackback

Since last night, the United States of America (and the world) are celebrating the historic Presidential win of Senator Barack Obama, President-Elect of the USA. At the same time that the US voters prove to the world that they are ready to welcome an African American to the White House, they also prove that they are NOT ready to recognize that every citizen has the same rights, regardless of sexual orientation. I am APPALLED.

So, we now have differentiated rights? I can’t believe that in a society that prides itself in values of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. The win by Senator Obama is a wonderful victory for the US, but it’s unfortunately also colored by the darkness of Proposition 8, “Eliminates Right of Same-Sex Couples to Marry“.

I was on the bus talking to a couple of wonderful and intelligent ladies and in our conversation, I mentioned that Senator Obama’s win is a stepping stone for civil rights in the US, and that maybe, one day, the world’s most powerful country may be led by a gay man (or woman, for that matter), and one of these ladies indicated that, were this to happen, this might signal the real coming of age of the US.

When there is really no distinction based on skin color, or who we choose to love. I wish we were closer to that day. And I seriously hope that President Obama will help advance the rights of many LGBT voters who, too, chose him as their president, and who have EVERY RIGHT to marry. Because nobody can deny the freedom to love. NOBODY. And in the mean time, all states who approved California Proposition 8 (and similar ones by Arizona, etc. that eliminate the right of same-sex couples to marry) – GROW UP ALREADY.

Comments»

1. Cecily - November 5, 2008

I don’t know why the election of a gay man or a lesbian would signify “real” change any more than the election of an African American man. Change is change — one form of change is no more authentic than another.

2. Raul - November 5, 2008

Cecily – I don’t think the ladies I talked to were implying that the election of an African American man was “less real” or “less authentic” than electing a LGBT person. What I think they meant is that, if the race issue has been already overcome, then the sexual orientation issue should be resolved no longer after.

3. Rusty - November 5, 2008

What about religion? I don’t see any tolerance at all for people’s religion. My two cents. This is all hallow speak.

4. gusf - November 5, 2008

Yeah I’m disappointing that they keep bringing the gay marriage issue up even after their own courts said it was illegal. I don’t see the world falling apart because of it, let’s look at other countries where it is legal.

It’s interesting that once law becomes law, they can have a proposition to remove that law.

Sadden by this myself.

5. Victoria Potter - November 5, 2008

The resutls are disgusting, yes, though 3 million absentee ballots have not yet been tabulated so there is a sliver of hope.

http://www.noonprop8.com/headlines/statement-by-no-on-prop-8-campaign-on-election-status/

6. Derek K. Miller - November 5, 2008

Time for a gay atheist president of Muslim extraction, maybe? THAT would be a sign.

7. Raul - November 5, 2008

@ Gus – yeah, saddened as well.

@ Victoria – I do hope that there might be some hope.

@ Derek – Totally! You’re right, that would totally mark a full change. I am about to approve a message from someone who mentioned the issue of religion, whose comment I disagree with, but all opinions should be heard.

8. Jen - November 5, 2008

I totally agree with you, Raul. I wrote a post on this topic earlier tonight which I will publish tomorrow morning.

9. Jen - November 6, 2008
10. Melissa - November 6, 2008

I came via Jen’s blog, Raul. Thanks for posting. I was appalled to read about this unfolding on some of my Morman friends’ blogs. Not only did they disagree with gay marriage, they literally spent all their free time for the past 2 months devoted to going door-to-door and putting up “YES” signs on people’s front lawns. They even had “YES” widgets on their blogs! I can’t believe that a religion which preaches tolerance was advocating such bias towards a community that has DONE NOTHING WRONG. I thought, in this era, we were past the whole “separate water fountains” issue. Sadly, it seems we’re not.

11. Tawcan - November 7, 2008

Posted something similar thanks to you & Jen.

12. Proposition 8, gay rights and the movie Milk « Random Thoughts of a Student of the Environment - November 15, 2008

[…] this particular case, Proposition 8 (California) eliminates the right of same-sex couples to wed. I have previously written about how appalled I feel about such a progressive state voting AGAINST th…. San Francisco was the city where the very first openly gay man was ever elected to public office, […]


Leave a Reply

