jump to navigation

Bridging the blogger world in Vancouver November 10, 2008

Posted by Raul in blogosphere, random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags: , ,
trackback

A couple of weeks ago, Pat Zaph and I were having lunch downtown and we were talking about the fact that there seems to be like, two (or more) groups of bloggers in Vancouver. We kind of know OF each other but we don’t seem to know each other very much.

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Danielle and Chad (with whom Pat hangs out on a regular basis), and I know that Duane has hung out with them too. But I don’t get to see them very often. We all read each other’s blogs but we seem to find little time to actually organize gatherings.

One of my goals as the Organizer of Vancouver Bloggers Meetup is to actually build more bridges amongst local bloggers. It’s part of who I am, and part of what I think my role is, both as a blogger and as an individual. I think I am a good connector. I introduce people to each other and connect them.

Even as an academic and an instructor, I’ve connected my students with potential universities for post-graduate studies or job opportunities. I’ve linked my fellow researchers with other academics in the same field. Why? Well, because for one, I know a hell of a lot of people. And I keep in touch with them, particularly using Web 2.0 tools.

Recently, while having lunch with Rebecca, she reminded me that there is a whole other world of blogs out there. I do hope that those bloggers who write about everything else but blogging (e.g. hockey blogging, religious blogging, outdoor activities blogging, etc.) feel free to engage and join our circles of friendship.

Comments»

1. Matthew Collinge - November 10, 2008

I agree Raul. In the spirit I just emailed the Blogger Meetup to a mommy blogger friend of mine. See ya there.

2. Wet Coast Women » Blog Archive » Vancouver Bloggers Meetup Info… - November 11, 2008

[…] YOU want to meet other bloggers…check out Raul’s post about it all and all his links…he is the […]

3. Phaedra - November 12, 2008

I will be at this months blogger meet-up.


Leave a Reply

