jump to navigation

Wednesday morning/Tuesday night link love roundup November 11, 2008

Posted by Raul in link love.
trackback

Olympic Village

I had been thinking of doing a “link love” roundup in a while, but I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to have a theme or whether I just wanted to highlight recent posts, or especially interesting blog entries. In the interest of not thinking on a statutory holiday (today is Remembrance Day), here are a few items that I thought you should know of.

– The Fearless City is on Twitter now! They do amazing work with the Downtown East Side community. Do follow them here.

– Maktaaq provides us with an interesting post on primary data sources for investigations on World War I.

– Jonathon Narvey provides us with his predictions for an Obama presidency.

– Kerry Anne and Airdrie (Lip Gloss and Laptops) most recent podcast offers a chance to win a bottle of Sweet Obsession (sorry but that’s only for female readers). Totally self-absorbed comment – when I was studying chemical engineering, my parents bought me a different cologne every semester. I used Obsession for Men as my cologne of choice in the first year of my undergraduate. I love Calvin Klein colognes. And YAY! I got a shout-out from Kerry Anne and Airdrie while they were recording the show 🙂 Gotta love Twitter (and yes, my signature cologne is Carolina Herrera for Men).

– Dr. Beth Snow is continuing with her historical series now focused on BC Premiers. The 8th Premier of British Columbia is depicted in this post.

– Arieanna gives a good tip for us BC residents who may visit Capilano Suspension Bridge. Check it out! On a side note, I kind of prefer Lynn Canyon and their suspension bridge myself 🙂

– Via my friend Rob Cottingham, I found out that Social Signal has helped BC Hydro launch their new website, which is pretty cool. You can check it out here. Actually, the kind of work that Rob and Alex do is precisely something that appeals a lot to me (e.g. creating social media strategies for environmentally-focused firms). With my PhD training in environmental studies and all I’ve learned about social media, this kind of project is something I’d like to get involved in the future.

– I really enjoyed this very thorough and respectful post on Remembrance Day by VanCity Buzz (by their own admission, they tend to be kinda politically incorrect, but I like them and they’ve been always very respectful with me.

– I feel bad for not having written anything about Dia de los Muertos, but thankfully, Isabella Mori did, so check out her awesome post.

– I loved that Jen Stoddart posted about the upcoming cover of Vogue with Jennifer Aniston saying “what Angelina did was very uncool“. I agree. The worst part? It appears (at least the gossip blogs say so) that Angelina admitted that she and Brad had an affair while he was still married to Jen. If that’s true then – Not cool.

Comments»

1. Beth - November 12, 2008

Thanks for the link love, Dr. Raul. =)

2. Urban Dweller - November 12, 2008

Thanks for the link love Raul and liking us despite our politically incorrect nature 🙂

3. isabella mori - November 13, 2008

thanks for the shoutout!

4. Maktaaq - November 19, 2008

Thanks for the link, Raul!


Leave a Reply

