jump to navigation

The Eastside Culture Crawl is coming up! Nov 21-23rd, 2008 November 16, 2008

Posted by Raul in random thoughts, Vancouver.
Tags:
trackback

I’m an East Vancouver boy and proud of it. Everybody who knows me will be a witness to how much I love to promote Main Street, East Vancouver, Mount Pleasant, and to my commitment I am to do work for the Downtown East Side. My friend Kris Krug tweeted recently that he had been asked to have his photography exhibited in a group event for the Eastside Culture Crawl.

So I’ve got now even more reasons (in addition to the fact that, well, I’m an East Vancouver boy) to attend the Eastside Culture Crawl. From their website:

The Eastside Culture Crawl is an annual 3-day November event that involves artists who live in Vancouver’s Eastside in an area bounded by Main St., 1st Ave., Commercial Drive, and the Waterfront. Painters, jewelers, sculptors, furniture makers, musicians, weavers, potters, writers, printmakers, photographers, glassblowers; from emerging artists to those of international fame… these are just a sampling of the exciting talents featured during this unique chance to meet local artists in their studios.[Eastside Culture Crawl website]

I would strongly encourage you to attend the Eastside Culture Crawl. If you plan to do so, drop me a comment and maybe we can organize a group to hang out there together.

Comments»

1. Bruce Byfield - November 16, 2008

The Culture Crawl looks like an interesting event, but I couldn’t help but notice that it seems to have a complete lack of First Nations artists. Yet Vancouver is home to dozens of First Nations artists, some of whom are known world wide.

I don’t this lack of First Nations artists is racist, but it does point to a strange division in the local arts community.

2. Phaedra - November 17, 2008

I’m down.

3. vanessa - November 17, 2008

yeah it’ll be nice to take a peek into all these local designers’ studios!

4. Tania - November 17, 2008

Me too!


Leave a Reply

