jump to navigation

Gregor Robertson is the new Mayor-elect of Vancouver November 17, 2008

Posted by Raul in politics, Politics 2.0, public policy issues, Vancouver.
trackback

Launch Party Vancouver 5

Well, he did it. Not only did he become Vancouver’s next mayor, he did so with a Vision majority in City Council. That fact sure speaks volumes to the need for change within the Vancouver area. There were, of course, civic elections all over Metro Vancouver, but the focus was inevitably on Vancouver proper.

I wrote a post a few weeks back on homelessness public policy to which the lack of responses completely frustrated me, because I don’t think a lot of people understood that one key issue to address the homelessness challenge (a key element on which Gregor based a substantial portion of his platform) is establishing strong relationships (and by strong I mean, where there is flow of funds!) with the provincial and federal governments.

Unless Gregor is able to create a consolidated, all-encompassing, across-all-levels-of-government kind of public policy for the homeless, we are about to stay exactly where we are.

On the good news front, I am glad that people did take to heart the challenge of becoming engaged in their own, local-level, municipal politics (something I was worried about a few months back). Participation in this civic election was unparalleled and that pleases me.

EDIT – Thanks to Tod Maffin for spotting a mistake on my post – it’s fixed πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Michael - November 17, 2008

woot, gotta love higher taxes πŸ™‚

2. Mike Stewart, Downtown Vancouver Realtor - November 17, 2008

Lets hope he doesn’t bring the NDP’s agenda to Vancouver politics in the guise of Vision Vancouver

3. Beth - November 17, 2008

Voter turnout was unparalleled? I’d gotten the impression that it was really low from watching Shaw’s coverage on Sat night, but I never did find out what the voter turnout ended up being. What was the voter turnout?

4. nancy (aka money coach) - November 17, 2008

@Michael I’ll pay higher taxes if I can feel good about my community – ie., we house our mentally ill.
@Mike I think vision is about redefining political parties and economics – ie., what good is business, if it doesn’t contribute to its community?
@Beth – I think turnout was only in the 25% range. *le sigh*
@Raul – brokering relationships – I imagine next May’s results will be a starting point with the Province. Depending on the results, it will be more or less difficult.

5. GusF - November 17, 2008

@Michael I agree with you, higher taxes here we come! and if they think they will get a pay raise I’ll be more than pissed!

@Mike yes let’s hope he doesn’t bring an NDP agenda (speaking personally from going through an NDP government in the past)

@Beth yeah I thought it was a low turn out as well, I guess people were tired of having 3 elections in a span of 1 month. I know I was tired, but still voted.

@Nancy you can pay my taxes if you like πŸ™‚ But feeling better about one’s community doesn’t have to involve money or taxes.

@Raul I didn’t vote for Gregor πŸ™‚ Just saying πŸ™‚

6. Urban dweller - November 17, 2008

@GusF – Bang on buddy. The NDP era was brutal and I can’t believe people want to go back to that. They all must work in unions or something.

@ Nancy – Yes if the NDP wins (I’m praying that they don’t) Gregor will have an easier time getting want he wants. Which in the end may be good for Vancouver πŸ™‚

Raul, your posts on homelessness have been an awesome read. Hopefully one day you won’t have to write about that πŸ™‚ However, we will never end homelessness completely, only contain it to an acceptable level by society.

I too wasn’t thrilled with the voter turnout but civic politics has become accustomed to low turnout. Which to me seems quite stupid as municipal politics have a far greater impact (at least in the urban cores)on your day to day lives than federal and to a lessor extent provincial politics.

Also it’s funny how everyone now seems to be running on a platform of change. Too bad they all lack the charisma as The One Barack Obama. Thats my two cents.

7. Michael - November 18, 2008

@Nancy I have to agree with what Gus said, if that tax money is used to give them a 90%+ raise in the next couple years, I’m going to be pissed. If the money actually goes back into the city and helps get the homeless off the streets, I’m fine.

8. Raul - November 19, 2008

@ all – thanks for the great comments

It’s going to be a challenge for Gregor, I think – promising is easy, but actually fulfilling those promises may prove harder than he thinks.


Leave a Reply

