jump to navigation

Social media tools and academia November 18, 2008

Posted by Raul in academic life, random thoughts.
Tags: ,
trackback

As I was archiving and packing some stuff, I realized that I now have way many more tools to do the kind of research I do, and that, should I want to really engage in broader dissemination of my research, I can create a website, generate content for a blog, create an information-dissemination campaign, raise awareness of my latest research project, all through the magic of Web 2.0 tools. I had already talked about this with several of my geeky academic friends, but it hit me really hard today as I was going through some papers, I thought “oh, this journal article is online for sure – all I need to do is de.licio.us it and it’ll be there always for me“.

Before I engaged fully in social media, I wouldn’t even have thought about it and would have accumulated yet another printed copy of a paper. But thanks to Web 2.0 tools, I’ve become more and more efficient. Shane Gibson gave yet another example last night at the Vancouver Sales Performance Meetup with LinkedIn. All great tools for me, as a professional of environmental issues. Good times!

Comments»

1. shanegibson - November 18, 2008

Raul,

I have been using password protected WordPress blogs (self-hosted) as a reinforcement tool for the training I do with clients. Many of my attendees or students find it a great non-threatening way to share best practices and can even subscribe to private video and audio rss feeds through iTunes. Web 2.0 used properly can really help leverage those of us with limited resources that have a lot of knowledge to share.

Thanks for the mention by they way!

Cheers


Leave a Reply

