jump to navigation

Music review – If I Hadn’t Got You (Chris Braide / Lisa Stansfield) March 13, 2008

Posted by Raul in Uncategorized.
trackback

Inspired by Keira-Anne’s recent post on the dearth of good music (and without making any claim to special knowledge about music, despite the many years and thousands of dollars my parents’ spent on my piano training), I wanted to compare two versions of the same late-90’s song sung by two totally different singers. Chris Braide is indeed the original writer of the song “If I Hadn’t Got You”, which apparently he then adapted for Lisa Stansfield to sing (you already might know that I’m a die-hard Lisa Stansfield fan).

Anyhow, here are the two versions (videos from YouTube). Would love to hear your reactions. Which one do you like more? I have to say that the very first time I heard Braide’s version I really didn’t like it all that much, but now I’ve gained an appreciation for it. The Stansfield version? I love it, of course.

Chris Braide’s version here

Lisa Stansfield’s version here

UPDATE – I think I forgot for a few hours to post the Stansfield version. Sorry if you read it earlier. I just realized the err of my ways. Ooops.

Comments»

1. Raul - March 13, 2008

Totally wrong of me to comment on my own blog, but since I’ve already posted an update, figured it was wrong to re-post. So, yeah – I synchronized both versions to the same spot, and first of all – the lyrics are different. Second, Stansfield’s version goes much faster. I’d prefer to listen to Braide’s version at a nice cafe (like, JJ Beans, Waves or the End Cafe) while I write mindless stuff and to dance to Stansfield’s version. Just my thoughts.

2. What I’m Listening To » Miss604’s Vancouver Blog by Vancouver Blogger and Podcaster Rebecca Bollwitt - March 13, 2008

[…] (What I’m Listening To). Inspired by Keira’s post about music yesterday, and Raul’s follow-up, here’s a sampling of what’s currently on my […]


Leave a comment