jump to navigation

Adaptation and vulnerability to floods and climatic events in Mexico September 1, 2008

Posted by Raul in academic life, climate change, environment, Focus on Vancouver, food for thought, public policy issues, sustainability, Vancouver, vulnerability and adaptation, wastewater, water, water policy.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

This post is worthy of much more in-depth content, but I just wanted to show that the municipality where my parents live is really unprepared for extreme rain. The photos and video shown below show the local river almost entirely flooded (and rather polluted, as you can see).

River overflow 2

River overflow 3

As you can see, cars are at serious risk of being taken by the river. The local authorities are rather unprepared for these extreme rain events. But the funny thing is, I wonder how prepared are the Metro Vancouver municipalities. I will be doing some research on this topic upon my return to Vancouver.

Comments»

1. Colin Clarke - September 1, 2008

I don’t know where in Mexico your parents live but as far as preparedness is concerned I think it’s just a matter of what the prevalent menace is, earthquake, snow, rain etc,. Here in southwestern B.C. is concerned it’s earthquakes and rain that are the concerns that are foremost in our minds and I think that for the most part we are reasonably well prepared because of past experience.


Leave a comment